King of Wake 2010 Schedule Released

The WWA has just announced the King of Wake 2010 schedule. Head on over to our US Events Page to view the eight events listed here or read on for the official press release.


The King of Wake — the world’s elite pro wakeboarding series — announced today where and when the top pro riders will compete for the ultimate wakeboarding crown, with the release of its 2010 schedule. In 2010, the top pros will compete in a series of eight events throughout the United States for one ultimate season-long points chase to see who rules the wake.

The eight events included in the 2010 series are the Wake Games, the WWA National Championships, the WWA World Championships and all five stops on the Pro Wakeboard Tour.

The King of Wake opens and ends its 2010 series at the Orlando Watersports Complex in Orlando, Fla. The series kicks off with the Wake Games on April 29-May 2 and wraps up the season on Aug. 19-22 with the WWA World Championships.

The Pro Wakeboard Tour features five stops, beginning on May 22 in Acworth, Ga. The Pro Tour then continues on to Fort Worth, Tex., on June 12; Elizabethtown, Ky., on June 19; Colorado Springs, Colo., on July 24; and concludes in Knoxville, Tenn. on Aug. 14, where a Pro Tour winner will be crowned.

The WWA National Championships, held in the greater Reno area of Sparks, Nev., on July 14-18, will mark the midpoint of the season, and the Chase for the Crown will begin following this event.

The Chase limits the King of Wake crown to the top 10 riders in the standings midway through the season. Only the 10 riders involved in the Chase will have their point totals adjusted and have the remaining three stops for topping each other in the standings for the King of Wake crown. The overall winner will be crowned at the 2010 Wake Awards.

Canada’s Aaron Rathy is the current King of Wake champion and will look to defend his title in 2010 against the sport’s top riders, including Pro Tour titlist and 2009 Rookie of the Year Harley Clifford; current National champion Adam Errington; and defending Wake Games winner Rusty Malinoski.

10 Mar 2010

Wakeboard UK Sponsors

Support Team GB